Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 22 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 214

    Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

    This is a discussion on Sagem router has been cracked - take 2 within the Extracting Sky Router passwords forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar The 1.5 software contains bug fixes and is more stable than the 1.1 software. Really? I ...

    1. #21
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      The 1.5 software contains bug fixes and is more stable than the 1.1 software.
      Really? I haven't spotted any major differences in performance. The Linux kernel, and ADSL and wireless drivers are the same in both versions. The most obvious difference is that the 1.5 software encrypts the configuration data when it dumps it. In fact, the fact that the 1.1 software doesn't encrypt the configuration data was a key part of cracking the router.

      I suspect that whatever the differences they are quite minor because they would been put into the code at quite a late stage. I say that because the only reason why 1.1 is supplied on the CD rather than 1.5, well, that I can think of, is that the changes were introduced very close to the release date, and the CD had already been put into manufacturing. It would be unusual to put major changes in at such a late stage, unless they were absolutely critical, and to be honest, I've yet to spot any critical issues with the 1.1 firmware.

      Of course, once you've got the username and password, you could go back to the Sagem F@ST 2404 firmware which seems to be ahead of both the 1.1 and 1.5 sky firmware. Although that would be a breach of the T&C's.

      As far as I can see, leaving the router on 1.1 firmware doesn't contravene the T&C's - it fulfils the requirement for using the Sky-supplied router and the requirement for allowing the router to auto-upgrade.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      barnjp's Avatar
      barnjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      I'm sorry if you've said this somewhere, but do you need to be connected to the outside world or can it just be me, my PC and the router?

    4. #23
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Really? I haven't spotted any major differences in performance. The Linux kernel, and ADSL and wireless drivers are the same in both versions. The most obvious difference is that the 1.5 software encrypts the configuration data when it dumps it. In fact, the fact that the 1.1 software doesn't encrypt the configuration data was a key part of cracking the router.

      I suspect that whatever the differences they are quite minor because they would been put into the code at quite a late stage. I say that because the only reason why 1.1 is supplied on the CD rather than 1.5, well, that I can think of, is that the changes were introduced very close to the release date, and the CD had already been put into manufacturing. It would be unusual to put major changes in at such a late stage, unless they were absolutely critical, and to be honest, I've yet to spot any critical issues with the 1.1 firmware.

      Of course, once you've got the username and password, you could go back to the Sagem F@ST 2404 firmware which seems to be ahead of both the 1.1 and 1.5 sky firmware. Although that would be a breach of the T&C's.

      As far as I can see, leaving the router on 1.1 firmware doesn't contravene the T&C's - it fulfils the requirement for using the Sky-supplied router and the requirement for allowing the router to auto-upgrade.
      Hi James, I admit I'd made an assumption the updated firmware fixed previous issues!
      I've obtained my username and password from my 834 modem in order to avoid the double NAT issue, but as I said if theres no good reason to risk the modem then why do it, other than to stick two fingers up at the heavy handed Sky behaviour?
      There is no p in Thomson.

    5. #24
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by barnjp View Post
      I'm sorry if you've said this somewhere, but do you need to be connected to the outside world or can it just be me, my PC and the router?
      What, to get the password out?

      Well, I did all my work with just the router plugged into the PC using an Ethernet cable, and no other cables. Apart from the router's power cable, of course.

    6. #25
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      Hi James, I admit I'd made an assumption the updated firmware fixed previous issues!
      I've obtained my username and password from my 834 modem in order to avoid the double NAT issue, but as I said if theres no good reason to risk the modem then why do it, other than to stick two fingers up at the heavy handed Sky behaviour?
      It was a reasonable assumption. 1.5 sounds like 4 revisions on from 1.1, but I suspect it isn't really - it certainly wouldn't be the first piece of software I've seen that jumped to version x.5.

      I actually use my trusty old V1 router, with the standard Sky firmware with just a tiny mod to make the target noise margin configurable - it's not stable without that. For me, it's just an Ethernet port that's connected to the Internet, just like my telephone socket connects me to the telephone network.

      But I do like to have my connection username and password handy, in case the router fails. If my mobile phone dies, I can phone up Orange, and a courier will deliver a new phone the next day. Until Sky offers that level of service, I'm simply not comfortable with not having a backup router.
      Last edited by James67; 28-01-08 at 09:39 PM.

    7. #26
      barnjp's Avatar
      barnjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Right, I've managed to get a username and password out of the Sagem. It gave me a little bit of a fright in the middle somewhere - had to hard power off/on to get the "sparse" firmware for the second time. Anyway, that was fine The only thing is that, having put the U&P into my trusty old router it won't connect Any thoughts? [And yes, I've checked them a million times and I don't think I'm being a numpty.]

    8. #27
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      You'll get the right username but the wrong password if you do the 'crack' command incorrectly. The SSID is always SKY followed by 5 digits. The WPA key is always 8 capital letters. If you think you've got a zero in your WPA key, then it isn't a zero, it's an "oh". Likewise if you think you've got a one, it is actually an "eye".

      When you get the output from the 'cat /var/password.txt' command, then it's best to copy and paste it into a file, then copy and paste from that into your other router.

      EDIT: I should have said, if you think you may have typed something wrong in the 'crack' command, just telnet to the router and do it again - there's no need to flash back to the Sagem firmware, then back to the modified 1.1 firmware.
      Last edited by James67; 28-01-08 at 11:25 PM.

    9. #28
      gilbert's Avatar
      gilbert is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      As far as I can see, leaving the router on 1.1 firmware doesn't contravene the T&C's - it fulfils the requirement for using the Sky-supplied router and the requirement for allowing the router to auto-upgrade.
      ...brilliant and watertight thinking....but we can extrapolate that it's not in the spirt of Sky's purpose for the T&Cs....


      ....so, whose going to bet against me that:

      A: they don't change the T&Cs
      B: they don't say the next one's unhackable....he he he he he
      Last edited by gilbert; 29-01-08 at 01:30 AM.

    10. #29
      gilbert's Avatar
      gilbert is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post

      And if they can't, well, I hope Sky charge them for a replacement router. Both this thread and the previous one were quite explicit about the risks and advised people not to try the procedure if they were dependant on their router for Internet access.

      My conscience is clear.
      ...got to disagree with you there - your conscience is clear, but sky's is not...so I see supplying a trashed router free off charge as poetic justice for those that just wanted what they ordered in the first place and wanted to make it happen..

    11. #30
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Sagem router has been cracked - take 2

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      …that, or a job working on the V3 router software.

      Possible problems on this one... If you do help design the V3 then you wouldnt be able to crack it for us Unless off course you were planning a back door for an easy way to retrieve the data lol
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

     

     
    Page 3 of 22 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION