Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Capturing webcam footage

    This is a discussion on Capturing webcam footage within the Everyday Life forums, part of the Community channel category; I'm looking to capture the images from a webcam in the Internet. Does anyone here have any ideas on what ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Capturing webcam footage

      I'm looking to capture the images from a webcam in the Internet. Does anyone here have any ideas on what I can use?

      The images are updated about once every 3 minutes and are only 352x240 pixels. The whole process will need to run over several days unattended. There is no sound, just the .jpg files.

      Normal Screen capture software isn't much use as it'll record far too much and would be too large to handle easily at the end of the process.

      I can get the source address and access that directly, without having to access the web page with the footage it it helps.

      Does anyone have any suggestions?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Capturing webcam footage

      Ive been using webcamxp software for many years for my home cctv ip cameras and it is very customisable.
      It allows you add a network stream too and set times for when to record etc.

      webcamXP - Webcam and Network Camera Surveillance Software

      They are also creating a new project as a successor to webcamxp called netcamstudio.
      Netcam Studio - Network Camera Monitoring Software

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Capturing webcam footage

      Thank you lettice. I shall take a look at that.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Capturing webcam footage

      Ok the Netcam Studio server seems to be more suitable, but insists on recording at a frame rate of at least 1fps and creating its own video.

      The images are refreshed about once every 3 minutes, so that's still a lot of frames that don't need to be recorded.

      I'm running a longer test at the moment. A couple of initial test failed to pick up a change in the image in the recording, yet the on screen refresh was Ok. I'll know in the morning if it works correctly.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Capturing webcam footage

      I do not use netcam studio that much, but Im hoping to move my cameras over soon.
      I thought you wanted to capture images rather than just video. In the manual for netcam studio on page 37 is a timelapse function, might be closer to what you require.
      Also get to grips with the scheduler too, as you will not want to be capturing at night, black image
      They are very configurable pieces of software and their support is great in their forums.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Capturing webcam footage

      Ahhh... I'll look for that feature.

      I've managed to get the WebcamXP 5 app to record some video from the stills and just playing with the result in VideoStudio.

      I'd much prefer to just capture the stills. VideoStuidio can edit them together as a timelapse project, much like I did in the recent Marwell video I posted. The journey part was recorded using my phone and a timelapse app. It created a series of still images which I then used.

      If someone can find something that doesn't shove it's own logo in to the saved files too that would be far better.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION