Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 36 of 36
    Like Tree2Likes

    Why not fixed yet

    This is a discussion on Why not fixed yet within the Everyday Life forums, part of the Community channel category; Sorry, looking back at your first post this has been going on for more than a year so your box ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Why not fixed yet

      Sorry, looking back at your first post this has been going on for more than a year so your box is out of warranty. You would have to pay for a replacement. You could try buying a second user box from eBay or other source, maybe you will have more luck with that. I can assure you this is not a common problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      janitor's Avatar
      janitor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      105
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Why not fixed yet

      I mentioned the problem to the sky call handler when I contacted them last year, and they said they were aware, that the problem persists but that the amount of boxes that seem to exhibit it is very low, and that replacing the box, which was replaced for another fault, would sort it, unfortunately it seems not as it's happened a few times since the box was replaced.

    4. #33
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Why not fixed yet

      STB's are basically computers and like computers when left continuously on or in sleep mode will eventually crash.

      I agree that the latest boxes seem to be less stable than my old Thompson, probabably because they do more. However in my experience the sky STB is rock solid when compared to my old VM box which crashed, at least, every day.

      There is rarely a good time for your STB to crash, especially when you are quite severely disabled and live alone

      Soo..What I do is to pre-empt the box crashing by:

      Emptying the deleted programs folder and performing a programmer rebuild at a time of my choosing about every 3 months or so, or immediatly following a software upgrade.

      I have not had an spurious box crash since adopting this procedure.
      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Why not fixed yet

      Just going through the thread again and one thing I'm not truly clear on...

      Just how are you controlling the Sky STB?

      i.e. Direct with Sky remote, via Magic-eye, infra-red extender

      Also is there any bright light shining on the front of the STB? Specifically the sun or a spotlight.

      If you have a smart phone or tablet, are you able to use the Sky+ app?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #35
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Why not fixed yet

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sorry, looking back at your first post this has been going on for more than a year so your box is out of warranty. You would have to pay for a replacement. You could try buying a second user box from eBay or other source, maybe you will have more luck with that. I can assure you this is not a common problem.
      You do get 90 days warranty from the last service visit which might be of use if you called and reported the problems again near the end of the contract or within 90 days of the last visit.

      I work in retention so I (or someone like me) may look on this as a reason to still give another free visit.

      Alternatively your issue may have been escalated to a senior technical level and Sky systems (Chordiant) may just apply a free visit due to the senior escalation in the previous 180 days, technical advisors may not see this initially but when they go to book the visit the system makes it free without them doing anything.

      [Ongoing problems with simple things are the most frustrating....]

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (12-12-14)

    8. #36
      janitor's Avatar
      janitor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01983
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      105
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Why not fixed yet

      And they still haven't fixed it, may be before bringing out super sky Q boxes they could fix the remote control problem in the sky+HD boxes

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION