Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Should I get a faceplate?

    This is a discussion on Should I get a faceplate? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just been checking my Extension Socket/ Master Socket / Test Socket stats I currently have standard faceplates and get the ...

    1. #1
      3xH's Avatar
      3xH
      3xH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton SMWV
      Broadband ISP: Sky? lol, No Chance
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I get a faceplate?

      Just been checking my Extension Socket/ Master Socket / Test Socket stats

      I currently have standard faceplates and get the following stats:

      Extension Socket and Master Socket:

      Connection Speeds between 2468-3488 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db

      Test Socket

      Connection Speed 4288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 58.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db

      Is it worth fitting a filtered faceplate for such a small attenuation difference? Cos it seem like the speed would jump up alot.

      Also, is it worth bothering sky to be put on ADSL2 instead of G.DMT?

      Thanks in advance for replys


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      every little helps so why not? you need to check your extension wiring as the problem will probably lie there. i rewired mine in cat5e which has improved things. There are several threads about adsl2 and being switched to it, on long lines like mine and yours it doesnt increase speed and your attenuation may well increase

    4. #3
      3xH's Avatar
      3xH
      3xH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton SMWV
      Broadband ISP: Sky? lol, No Chance
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      Quote Originally Posted by nobby View Post
      every little helps so why not? you need to check your extension wiring as the problem will probably lie there. i rewired mine in cat5e which has improved things. There are several threads about adsl2 and being switched to it, on long lines like mine and yours it doesnt increase speed and your attenuation may well increase
      Will a even a filtered faceplate not just bump it back up that 1dB though to 59, or does it really keep test socket stats?

      Also, the extension socket i get the exact same stats as the Master socket so I just assumed the cabling is pretty good already.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      My connection improved after fitting a new faceplate




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      my attenuation is the same at the NTE5 test socket and on my extensions. noise margin has increased with cat5e. i used the cw1308 cable first which increased my attenuation so swapped for cat5e. I have the adsl nation xte2005 then a dedicated unfiltered extention for the router (rj45 socket). the beauty being it gets rid of all the filters on all phones and sky boxes etc

      50mts cat5e was about 11 + rj45 socket (takes the rj11 modem lead) with a modualr bt secondary socket in the same box, as a second pair was used in the cat5 cable from the filtered terminals of the xte for voice bought here TLC Electrical Supplies
      Last edited by nobby; 24-01-07 at 01:45 PM.

    7. #6
      cazzbar's Avatar
      cazzbar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South West: SSSOU
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Bristol
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      Quote Originally Posted by 3xH View Post

      Extension Socket and Master Socket: Connection Speeds between 2468-3488 kbps

      Test Socket: Connection Speed 4288 kbps
      that's the figure that counts! an increase of nearly 2Meg i'd get one.

      although alas, with your high attenuation, ADSL1 seems the best connection for you

    8. #7
      3xH's Avatar
      3xH
      3xH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton SMWV
      Broadband ISP: Sky? lol, No Chance
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      OK, ill probably get a faceplate, but is it better to wire the extensions as Filterered or Unfiltered?

      I dont actually use any of the extensions at all apart from one being right next to my PC which until now, i had been using for my router. This is Hard wired through the walls in my brand new house though, so i cant upgrade the cabling for them that easily.

      I would guess best speeds would be a faceplate on the master socket pre-filtering the extensions? Would that be correct?

    9. #8
      nobby's Avatar
      nobby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Batley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get a faceplate?

      voice is pre filtered from the face plate or you can use the other terminals to run unfiltered to the extensions but then you woild need a filter on them if you use a phone etc, router wont need a filter if thats all thats connected

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION