Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

    This is a discussion on Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; At present my master socket is in my living room, in an awkward position. A couple years ago I had ...

    1. #1
      bathingape's Avatar
      bathingape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U with HG612
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      At present my master socket is in my living room, in an awkward position. A couple years ago I had my house cabled with Cat6 with the termination point being the garage where the patch panel and switch. Whilst doing this, the installer ran what looks like Cat5 or Cat6 from my master socket into the garage too.

      I now wish to take advantage of this and move my BT Openreach modem and Asus router into the garage. My knowledge of BT faceplates and sockets isn't great. I've unscrewed the master socket and from the top of my head, terminals 2 and 5 have been punched in and are going into the garage. In the garage, the other end of the cable is waiting to be wired into a socket.

      Is it just a case of wiring in a new socket/faceplate? If so, which one do I need?

      At present I have this in my living room. I use a microfilter with this into which my modem goes.

      Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question-openreachmaster.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,422
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 371 Times in 362 Posts

      Re: Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      Do you have separate wireless access points? If not is moving your router to the garage really a good idea? I'm assuming that there is a masonry wall between the garage and the rest of the house to provide fire protection. This will attenuate the Wi-Fi signal, especially if using 5Ghz, which will reduce connection speed and adversely effect coverage.

    4. #3
      bathingape's Avatar
      bathingape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U with HG612
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Do you have separate wireless access points? If not is moving your router to the garage really a good idea? I'm assuming that there is a masonry wall between the garage and the rest of the house to provide fire protection. This will attenuate the Wi-Fi signal, especially if using 5Ghz, which will reduce connection speed and adversely effect coverage.
      Coverage won't be an issue. Most of my devices are wired. Plus the thermolite blocks between the garage and rest of the house are rubbish. The ceiling is just drywall so that's fine. If it becomes an issue then I'll get extenders or AP's however my SmartThings and Hue hub currently reside in the garage with no issues.

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,422
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 371 Times in 362 Posts

      Re: Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      You are not allowed to relocate the master socket (not officially anyway) as the cabling between the master socket and the distribution point is Openreach's property. Openreach would charge to relocate it.

      As you have got a Cat5 or Cat6 cable between the master socket and the garage wouldn't it be easier (and cheaper) to leave the modem where it is and relocate your router to the garage using this cable to connect the two together? Alternatively you could fit a filtered faceplate and use the network cable as a data extension.

      Should you insist on moving the master socket yourself check if there are any junction boxes (JBs) prior to the master socket and if so run good quality internal telephone cable from the JB to the master socket relocated in the garage. If not and the external wiring feeds directly to the master socket use a BT 80A JB to connect the internal and external wiring when you remove the master socket.

      You could also fit a filtered faceplate and dispense with the microfilter.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      You could connect one of the pairs of the Cat cable to the AB terminals of the existing master socket and connect a new master socket in the garage. If you can get hold of a blanking faceplate to fit to the old master socket, this would prevent anyone using it and causibg interference, You should fit a VDSL filtered faceplate to the new master socket. These are much more dependable than the plug in type.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      As your patch panel is in the garage it does make sense to have your modem/router and phone line there. However, rather than move the master socket you could use our patch kits to patch the phone line to the panel. Is the cable that runs from the master socket location to the patch panel terminated or is it just a loose cable?
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    8. #7
      bathingape's Avatar
      bathingape is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U with HG612
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      21
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Relocating my Modem and Router - Faceplate question

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      As your patch panel is in the garage it does make sense to have your modem/router and phone line there. However, rather than move the master socket you could use our patch kits to patch the phone line to the panel. Is the cable that runs from the master socket location to the patch panel terminated or is it just a loose cable?
      I've now terminated it into an extension socket and my fibre seems fine and stable. What does your suggestion consist of?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION