Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    2 master sockets

    This is a discussion on 2 master sockets within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have got Sky Fibre and myself and my 2 sons are avid gamers. We have noticed considerable lagging ...

    1. #1
      whittall1's Avatar
      whittall1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      2 master sockets

      Hi, I have got Sky Fibre and myself and my 2 sons are avid gamers. We have noticed considerable lagging recently whilst online. I have run the sky fibre line checker app and it reports that my router should be plugged into a master socket.
      Where the bt line comes in it goes into a socket with a removable lower plate. From there BT installed a cable to the other side of the room where they put another socket which I believe would also be classed as a master socket. The modem router and phone line is plugged into this one.
      I need to know if I can remove the initial socket because it appears to serves no purpose other than a connection block for the extension wiring.
      I would like to post pictures to explain but I can't see any way of doing it on here.
      I would be grateful for any help and advice.

      Many thanks
      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      Can you post pictures of both sockets. The first sounds definitely like the real master socket and you should really locate the sky hub there and use a new faceplate.

    4. #3
      whittall1's Avatar
      whittall1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      2 master sockets-20181229_183211.jpg First socket

      - - - Updated - - -

      2 master sockets-20181229_183313.jpg Second socket

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,458
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      What a mess! It looks like you have a filtered face plate on your second socket but what is that block hanging off the socket, not a micro filter I hope?

      First thing log into your router and save a screen grab of your stats. Then remove the lower section of the first socket and check whether your phone (plugged into the 2nd socket) is dead. If it is move the phone to the test socket which was exposed when you removed the lower half of the 1st socket.

      Provided the phone works disconnect it and plug your router into the test socket. You can use a micro filter if you haven't got a suitable lead. Take a second set of stats and check for any appreciable differences from the first set. If the 2nd set is better (lower attenuation and/or higher noise margin it may be worth moving the filtered face plate to the first socket.
      Is there a cable connected to the part of the 1st socket which you removed?

    6. #5
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      that looks to be a filter attached to phone connection best removed if using prefiltered plate

    7. #6
      whittall1's Avatar
      whittall1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      OK thanks, will have a look later today.
      Bit of a nightmare with the socket 1 the opposite end of the room to socket 2, router, pc and bridge.
      Should i remove the microfilter from socket 2 anyway?

      - - - Updated - - -

      2 master sockets-stats1.jpg Here are my current stats before touching my setup

    8. #7
      whittall1's Avatar
      whittall1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      2 master sockets-20181230_120105.jpgbase plate removed from socket 1, no cable was attached to it and phone is still working
      Last edited by whittall1; 30-12-18 at 01:25 PM.

    9. #8
      whittall1's Avatar
      whittall1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      Just a thought while I wait for replies to the above.
      Why cant I remove socket 1 and join the wire using a terminal block (see photo), surely socket 2 is a master socket?
      2 master sockets-untitled-1.jpg

    10. #9
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,458
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      As removing the lower section of socket one didn't cut off your phone it looks as if (as you originally stated) it is just being used as a junction box. I don't know if it is connected internally. You could check using a phone whether the socket itself is connected. If not it probably wouldn't hurt to leave it as it is although if redecorating a junction box (as you shown) would make a neater job.

      Judging from your stats you are close to the PCP cabinet and wouldn't benefit from making any wiring changes unless you are offered a free upgrade, though you should remove the filter and plug your phone directly into the BT socket. I take it that the grey wire plugged into the RJ11 socket is connected to your router.

    11. #10
      whittall1's Avatar
      whittall1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 master sockets

      Yes I am close to the cabinet also the exchange is opposite my house.
      I think that its best left as is and yes I agree with you i'll plug my phone directly into the BT socket (if its connected inside).
      Yes the RJ11 is direct to the router.

      The one thing I am not too great with is SNR and Attenuation levels, I always assumed that higher is better?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION