Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

    This is a discussion on Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have Sky Fibre Max to be starting on the 14th this month. Our Master Socket is in a ...

    1. #1
      FredW77's Avatar
      FredW77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2016
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      Hi, I have Sky Fibre Max to be starting on the 14th this month. Our Master Socket is in a place where there is no power socket near. right now we have our hub in the other extension socket in a different room. If for some reason the Sky Q Hub however doesn't get enough speed in that socket I will have to use an extension cable from the Master Socket to the hub. It's probably enough to get a 3-5m cable. Question is, what cable would I need to get to go from the master to the hub, as the grey cable Sky provided with the hub wont be long enough. I have to say upfront I am not very savvy when it comes to these things, so I am not really good at knowing what to do. therefore the simpler the better, so I don't get things wrong.
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      If I am reading your OP correctly then I would think one of these will do what you want. These are also available from various hardware stores such as Homebase. 5m BT FULLY WIRED 6 Core Telephone Extension Cable - Extend lead from UK phone | eBay Be aware that extension cables can drop your internet speeds, significantly in some cases. A better solution, perhaps, would be for BT to install an extension socket near to your router. An even better solution would be to get an electrician to install a mains socket nearer to your BT master socket. Both of the latter options, I will admit, will incure significant costs.

    4. #3
      FredW77's Avatar
      FredW77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2016
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      Thanks for that. looking at them, I realised I didn't mean extension cable, but longer cable. I basically am looking for the same kind of cable that we got with the hub, just longer if such thing exists. We have a second socket in the room next to the Master Socket, which was installed by BT before we moved in. It gives a strong output, or at least did last year when it was last tested. We are still with TalkTalk Fibre until next week, and they told us we can get up to 38Mb, and I just tested it on my PC right now and I am getting 37.50Mbps, so it seems to give what it should. Hopefully the Sky Fibre Max will be stronger still.
      But I still would like to get a longer cable to potentially use the Master Socket if for any reason sky wants us to use that etc

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      I think what you want is a longer DSL cable. This is better than using a telephone extension. For Fibre you need a ultra high speed twisted pair cable, something like this - Ultra High Speed ADSL Cable 10m | Maplin Don't go much longer than 15 metres and keep it as near the actual length you need as possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      Phew thats a bit expensive. I think I would try a cheap telephone extension first. They don't always affect the speed and they are significantly cheaper than that ADSL extended cable.

    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      We fitted a telephone extension cable sourced via either ebay or amazon to move talk talk router nearer to TV to allow wired connection for gaming for daughters flat no drop on speed noticeable the other option is to use an extension power cable to plug router in near the open reach master socket
      Last edited by nodrog; 12-12-16 at 06:18 PM.

    8. #7
      AvoriazSkier's Avatar
      AvoriazSkier is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity II
      Router: BT HH6
      Sky TV: Three HD+ boxes
      Join Date
      Apr 2016
      Location
      Caerphilly
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      You can get an extension kit with the necessary insertion tool to run CAT6 ( or any good quality twisted pair ) cable from the back of your BT socket to any location you like. By just using terminals 2 and 5 you are in effect moving your master socket.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by pete.i View Post
      Phew thats a bit expensive. I think I would try a cheap telephone extension first. They don't always affect the speed and they are significantly cheaper than that ADSL extended cable.
      A cheap telephone extension will loose you speed, that is a certainty. If you are going to use a telephone extension, make sure it it made up of twisted pair cable. The standard flat cable attracts masses of interference.

      Maplins is not the cheapest place to buy cables, you can probably get them much cheaper elsewhere, just make sure it is twisted pair. Google for 'ultra high speed modem cable'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,027
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 190 Times in 181 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      Amazon looks good for them, a 10 metre and a 15metre around a fiver with free delivery.

      https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bandridge-H...1469312&sr=8-2

      https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bandridge-H.../dp/B007F909DC

    11. #10
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Need extension cable from Master Socket to Sky Q Hub

      A screened cable without correct grounding is pretty pointless. We have cables for this purpose manufactured from BT CW1724 cable (made by BT cables Ltd) which is the exact cable BT Openreach engineer use when installing VDSL/ADSL extensions. https://www.run-it-direct.co.uk/adsl...t5patchlead3m/. These are designed to work with a filtered faceplate and feature an RJ45 plug at one end for this reason (https://www.run-it-direct.co.uk/adsl-vdsl-faceplates/)
      Last edited by RUNITDIRECT; 13-04-17 at 12:06 PM.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION