Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    External Telephone Bell

    This is a discussion on External Telephone Bell within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HI Can someone please helerrect to terminals 2&5 at the sockets and the ring wire terminal 3 is no longer ...

    1. #1
      sparkie415's Avatar
      sparkie415 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01303
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      folkestone
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      External Telephone Bell

      HI Can someone please helerrect to terminals 2&5 at the sockets and the ring wire terminal 3 is no longer used. The built in bell / sounder of course still operates.

      My question is there must be a outside bell / sounder that can work on just The two fermi als 2&5 without the ring wire.

      I have tried to confirm this but with no joy.

      Can any please help. Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: External Telephone Bell

      I am not sure what you are asking, but most modern phones don't require the ring wire on terminal 3, the function is built into their circuit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      sparkie415's Avatar
      sparkie415 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01303
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      folkestone
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: External Telephone Bell

      Sorry Tom,
      Reading my post again i agree its not very clear. What i'm trying to achieve is to have an outside bell / sounder without using the ring wire as i have this disconnected.

      As you say most phones have this built into the circuitry, but is there an bell / sounder that you can wire to terminals 2&5 as you would a phone , or simply plug into the phone socket.

      I hope this makes more sense (I've got my glasses today)

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,422
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 371 Times in 362 Posts

      Re: External Telephone Bell

      These bells connect to terminals 3 & 5 so as to utilise the DC blocking "ring" capacitor fitted in the master socket.

      If a sounder allows the passage of DC, connecting it to terminals 2 & 5 will cause the telephone line to be permanently engaged.

      This situation can be alleviated by fitting a 1.8 μF capacitor in series with one of the wires or fitting an ADSL filter will have the same effect.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: External Telephone Bell

      If you mean you want a ring amplifier, then there are several types available, some also with flashing lights. You will find a good selection of these on Amazon - https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/?ie=UTF8&...l_8b016arukj_b

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: External Telephone Bell

      Just fit a PABX socket on the extension that will feed the external sounder (assuming it has a BT plug). That was the ring voltage will be generated local so no need to have the ring wire connected from the master socket.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION