Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

    This is a discussion on What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images] within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Before i get Sky Fibre Unlimited i want to ensure i have everything as optimised as possible. That includes ...

    1. #1
      b4z's Avatar
      b4z
      b4z is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      Hello,

      Before i get Sky Fibre Unlimited i want to ensure i have everything as optimised as possible.

      That includes the Master Socket in my house.

      I have read a little about some of the newer Master Sockets but i am not that educated on each, eg. Filtered Faceplates, REIN Filter or not, MK2 or MK3,

      I would like to buy the best Master Socket i can to prevent any possible issues and if possible maximise the potential of the line.

      Could someone help me identify the Master Socket i currently have?

      I made an Imgur album of it in detail here: http://imgur.com/a/Z6Anz

      And could anyone provide me information about which Master Socket is best to achieve the above.

      Thank you


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      There's no internal filter on that socket, better to fit one of these.

      https://www.amazon.co.uk/GENUINE-BT-.../dp/B00EX4FUS6
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      b4z's Avatar
      b4z
      b4z is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      Okay.

      If you read this post here:

      New vDSL faceplate-VTE2015

      He says the MK3 faceplate can lower sync speed? Is that true?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      You have the NTE5 faceplate.

      A VDSL Filtered faceplate is required for best results, although you don't appear to have any wired extensions so you could get away with the microfilter that Sky supplies.

      Whether you go for a Mk1, 2 or 3 doesn't really matter, so long as you use one.

      The Mk3 offers improved REIN protection. This can reduce the speed a little. If REIN is an issue, then it would make sense to get this faceplate.

      The Mk2 works fine and where REIN isn't an issue it could provide a better connection speed.

      Of course this all depends on what product you're aiming to purchase and what the estimated connection speed is for your line.

      If you're going for SFU, then your maximum speed would only ever be 40mb down and 10mb up. If you live very close to the cabinet and aiming to get SFUP then you'll most likely get the full 80/20 connection speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      As pointed out in that thread the Mk3 has a much more aggressive RF3 filter which can in some cases reduced the sync speed. If your line is REIN free then you should have nothing to worry about. It is used by BT mainly to reduce the amount of call backs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      AvoriazSkier's Avatar
      AvoriazSkier is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity II
      Router: BT HH6
      Sky TV: Three HD+ boxes
      Join Date
      Apr 2016
      Location
      Caerphilly
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      'Scuse my ignorance but what is REIN? I am aware that REN is Ring Equivalence Number but this is a new one on me.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      More in this PDF -


      https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rc...x2SkISADfqucCQ

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: What Master Socket do i have? And which is best? [Images]

      Quote Originally Posted by b4z View Post
      Okay.

      If you read this post here:

      New vDSL faceplate-VTE2015

      He says the MK3 faceplate can lower sync speed? Is that true?
      This guide may help :-

      https://www.run-it-direct.co.uk/blog...=2&search=#blt
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION