Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Minor change of location of Sky line

    This is a discussion on Minor change of location of Sky line within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I thought this forum would be best placed to answer this question. I'm hearing it's 130 call out for ...

    1. #1
      darthfoolish's Avatar
      darthfoolish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Minor change of location of Sky line

      Hi,

      I thought this forum would be best placed to answer this question.

      I'm hearing it's 130 call out for openreach to come out and do any non essential work, which I'm not too keen on paying.

      But, my phone line comes in through a hole bored through an old wooden sash window frame, with very little/no slack on the line.

      I'm getting ready to install new windows, and I've realised this is going to cause me a problem, as the workmen probably won't be able to remove the old window without damaging the line.

      So, I need openreach to change the location of the line, perhaps drilling a hole in the wall and moving it down a bit, before I get the window replaced.

      It doesn't seem fair that they'll charge me for this when they decided where they were going to put it when they installed it, and it wasn't in a very sensible place.

      So, any tips on how to get this done for free?

      As a side note, I'm also concerned about the fact that when I got fibre installed, I initially was going to go with BT, and openreach cancelled my appointment, which I had taken a day off work for. (I've since heard they've got form for this)

      This angered me so much that I cancelled the BT order, and went with Sky who didn't require an engineer visit.

      I wouldn't want to take another day off work for openreach not to turn up again.

      Is this particularly a problem for fibre activations, or is it across the board?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Minor change of location of Sky line

      The only way you'll get it done FOC is if the line develops a fault. You could argue it shouldn't got through the window frame but loads were installed like that in the past.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Minor change of location of Sky line

      If course, provided that you are happy with your own handy work, you could undo the cables that feed to the back of your master telephone socket, tape the ends so that they don't short, then carefully pull them out through the window.

      Either drill a new hole in the wall to allow the cable through or wait until the Window fitters come, and place it under the new windows.

      Do make a note of which wire goes to which connection on the back of the socket. Photograph it too it this helps.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      darthfoolish's Avatar
      darthfoolish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Minor change of location of Sky line

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If course, provided that you are happy with your own handy work, you could undo the cables that feed to the back of your master telephone socket, tape the ends so that they don't short, then carefully pull them out through the window.

      Either drill a new hole in the wall to allow the cable through or wait until the Window fitters come, and place it under the new windows.

      Do make a note of which wire goes to which connection on the back of the socket. Photograph it too it this helps.
      But I thought ordinary punters weren't allowed to tamper with the wiring?

      I just phoned Sky, who told me that this is something that Openreach won't do.

      She said my options were to call out an independent telephone engineer to do the work, or just let the window fitters break the cable, at which point openreach will fix it, which will incur an outage.

      I would mostly be confident of doing the work myself, the only problem being I live in a first floor flat, and heights are not my friend! I don't own a suitable ladder either.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Minor change of location of Sky line

      Technically the terms and conditions specifically state that the end user should not tamper with the lines.

      In practise BTO Engineers tend to not be too worried if the job is done well.

      Of course the simplest route would be to allow the window fitters to break the cable. This would mean that you'd have no telephone and Internet for at least 3 days. However it would mean that BTO would come to perform the repair.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION