Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

    This is a discussion on Multiroom and the great phone disaster! within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello All, I have a question regarding phone connections and multiroom. A sky engineer previously installed a sky + HD ...

    1. #1
      11thevans's Avatar
      11thevans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      Hello All,

      I have a question regarding phone connections and multiroom. A sky engineer previously installed a sky + HD in my front room and back room. Subsequently a regular sky box was added upstairs as another multiroom (i know a lot of tv but have a large family).
      There is a phone cable to my front room from master socket (blue + blue/white) which is connected to a "bare cable" splitter which connects to the sky box.

      The other part of the splitter is another cable passing into back room (again blue/blue white) but this is not connected to the back room sky box it is just bare.

      There is lastly a cable from an upstairs bedroom (above back room) with a splitter on it which travels down and through the wall into the back room, again not connected to anything.

      Obviously with multiroom you have to have a phone connection for each box, can someone please decipher this chaos I've written and help me out with how to do this?

      A thousand thank yous if so, i'm getting desperate as Sky want to charge me for not having them connected.
      Kind Regards
      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,456
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      I would suggest getting two rewirable BT Line Jacks to connect to the bare ended cables then modem leads of appropriate length to connect to the two Sky boxes that don't already have telephone connections.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      The modem leads are also available
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      Since the Sky Installer is responsible for completing the connections, simply write to Sky and ask for an installer to complete the installation. You should really have done this at the time the installation was done. I hope you didn't sign it off as "completed".

      (As from December 18th, a phone connection is not required for "Multiscreen" if you have the latest wireless Sky Digiboxes.)

    6. #5
      Nsewell's Avatar
      Nsewell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      If you phone up sky and ask for them to send out an engineer to connect the box to the phone line as the first installer failed to do so they will simply make you CLI exempt so you don't need the phone line connected.

    7. #6
      redrum217uk's Avatar
      redrum217uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: DUNSTON
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Gateshead
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      When I first took sky out I said there was no phone connection near the second box. I also said I did not want wires running around the place. The simple answer they gave me was not to worry about it as long as my main box was connected it didn't matter at all. I know loads of people who don't have their second box connected to a phone line and never had a problem. Not sure why they are making it an issue for you? Good luck though! ;-)

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Multiroom and the great phone disaster!

      The simple answer they gave me was not to worry about it as long as my main box was connected it didn't matter at all.
      That is simply not true, you have been given bad information. Don't be surprised if you receive a bill for the second box. There are several reports on the forum of users who have not had their second box connected and received a bill from Sky for the full cost of the second box. Even with the new system, ie, having the main box connected by ethernet the second box has to be connected to a phone line, even if it is also connected to the internet. This is expected to change fairly soon, where having all boxes connected to the internet will suffice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION