Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Master Socket Wiring Question

    This is a discussion on Master Socket Wiring Question within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, just hoping someone can help or offer advice. I've just moved into a new property and am in ...

    1. #1
      swameht's Avatar
      swameht is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Seaford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Sussex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Master Socket Wiring Question

      Hi all, just hoping someone can help or offer advice.

      I've just moved into a new property and am in the process of getting SKY unlimited SKY call. While waiting for the line to be activated, I decided to go ahead and fit an XTE-2005 filtered faceplate.

      When I removed the lower portion of the master socket I saw that there were no wires to connect up, so I removed the rest of the socket and found that there were only two wires connected - black and green.

      Any ideas how I go about fitting the filtered faceplate? Any help appreciated.
      Master Socket Wiring Question-bt-box.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket Wiring Question

      You screw the faceplate in place-the IDC connections are only used for extension wiring which you do not have.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    4. #3
      swameht's Avatar
      swameht is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Seaford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Sussex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Master Socket Wiring Question

      Very many thanks for that, I didn't expect for one moment that it would be that simple!!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Master Socket Wiring Question

      Just replace that plate and fix the filtered plate to the front of it. If you have no other socket extensions then you will have no wires on the faceplate. Put the standard faceplate you took off away somewhere safe, if you decide to fit a vDSL faceplate in the future, you will need it. If you have not already bought the faceplate I would advise getting a vDSL plate, they are better quality and will be ready for fibre should you decide to get it someday.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Master Socket Wiring Question

      In that scenario I'd replace the NTE5 for the latest version without the surge arrestor. The socket you have is a very early version.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION