Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Best cable for ADSL extensions?

    This is a discussion on Best cable for ADSL extensions? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey I've purchased the XTE-2005 which should have arrived today(it didn't), what's the best cable to use for the unfiltered ...

    1. #1
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Best cable for ADSL extensions?

      Hey

      I've purchased the XTE-2005 which should have arrived today(it didn't), what's the best cable to use for the unfiltered ADSL extensions?

      Length of the cable with be around the 15m mark and I currently experiencing very bad SNR margins as low as 5db during the evenings. Oh and i'm on MAX 16mb

      thanks
      hinz


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Use Cat5 cable - thats what BT use afaik




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Take a look at this LINK

    5. #4
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok, I’ve just been looking at some cat5e cables on ebuyer. What's the difference between Snagless, Assembled and Booted?

      Also does Cat5e provide better protection from interference?

      thanks again
      hinz

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      hinz I have my router in the master socket and a std cat5 cable to my PC about 5 metres above me




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You don't want ready made CAT5e cables as they have the plugs on the end that you don't need. Either you want plain CAT5 cable or CW1308 telephone cable. Either is fine, the cable that runs all the way from the exchange to your house is basically the CW1308 standard. 69p a meter from maplin seems very steep for CW1308 cable.

      Both are twisted pair cable and there is no advantage of going for CAT5 cable for such a short run as 15m.

    8. #7
      CaptainK's Avatar
      CaptainK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @ adslnation

      I thought Cat 5e was better shielded than the telephone cable and was less likely to be subject to interference etc.

      Also if using telephone cable, does it not mean that you end up situating the router well away from the master socket, i.e. a longer run of phone cable as opposed to Cat5e -in my case, it made a differerence in sync speed of 500ish kpbs.

      Also, what plugs are you talking about that you don't need on Cat5e?

    9. #8
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      CW1308 telephone cable is the same cable that BT Uses.

      The actual telephone cables from the exchange to your house are Polyetherlene Unit Twin which all have copper conductors and Polyetherlene Twin, which 90% of these have copper conductors, the rest have aluminium conductors.

    10. #9
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well I found some CW1308 lying in the garage so I've temporarily hardwired it to the new XTE-2005 faceplate (which arrived this morning) and the SNR has gone from 7db to 13.5db and the Line Attenuation 20db to 17.5db :-)

      And the best bit is that my SNR hasn't dropped this evening at all which is great. I'll be monitoring the SNR and speed closely over the next week before I fix the new extension permanently. I'll probably stick with the CW1308 as it's easier to work with.

      Does anyone know where the cheapest place to get a dual outlet faceplate with RJ11 and a normal voice socket (not filtered)?

      Thanks for your help
      hinz

    11. #10
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There is no shielding on CW1308 or CAT5 cable they are what is known as UTP (Unshielded Twisted Pair) cable. It is the fact that wires are twisted around each other that makes it possible for the cable to reject interference. The difference between CAT5 and CW1308 is that the CAT5 cable has more twists per meter than CW1308 as it has to handle frequencies much higher than ADSL. The extra twists are no real benefit to ADSL a relatively low frequency signal. In theory over long distances CAT5 would have a lower attenuation as the gauge of the wire is a fraction thicker than CW1308. The problem is that the cable has more twists meaning the length of the wire is in fact longer over a given distance adding to the attenuation so the advantage of the thicker wire is soon lost.

      In essence there is little if any gain to be had using CAT5e cable over CW1308.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION