Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 181

    ADSL Nation NTE-2005 Master face plate

    This is a discussion on ADSL Nation NTE-2005 Master face plate within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i too didnt have a master socket so i got a whole new box from ADSLnation http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...products_id=95 and im well ...

    1. #11
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      i too didnt have a master socket so i got a whole new box from ADSLnation http://www.adslnation.com/phpapps/ca...products_id=95
      and im well impresed with it as it has got the scerw down type fitting for the main wires as aposed to the push in type, you can also add an extension from it

      Glenn
      "To help would be a great adventure"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question

      Could someone help me clear up a liitle confusion, am I right in thinking that the new face plate from ADSLNation.com only replaces the bottom half of an NTE5 Socket, and does not contain any of the capacitors/lightning protection/overvoltage protection that is found in a standard BT NTE5 Socket, I am also a little confused with one of the replies that said it was quite legal to wire from the BT Block Terminal, where the undergound wires/overhead wires terminate where they enter your premises, I was led to believe that it was illegal to interfere with BT owned equipment??

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      am I right in thinking that the new face plate from ADSLNation.com only replaces the bottom half of an NTE5 Socket, and does not contain any of the capacitors/lightning protection/overvoltage protection that is found in a standard BT NTE5 Socket
      Correct it is only the faceplate, all the capacitors etc are in the main BT socket afaik




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      biglee's Avatar
      biglee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      At the moment i have a bt adsl faceplate v.1.0, if i plug into the master socket i don't get a speed increase at all. If i purchased a adsl nation XTE_2005 would i see any increase in speed?, even if it gave me a more stable snr i would be happy. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    6. #15
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      its hard to say a lot of people have been seeing a speed increase, i myself saw none but my snr did increase by about 1.5 and it also looks tidier then before with the filter hanging down
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Not being pedantic (honest!) but did you mean your noise margin went up not your SNR? Or are you using a non Sky router which reports SNR?
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-10-06 at 08:40 PM.

    8. #17
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      lol see what you mean yes noise margine im just not used to this router yet after so long with me old one
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #18
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you test the router in the test socket in the back of the master and your stats do not improve then you are unlikely to see any benefit fitting an XTE-2005.

    10. #19
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      hi i wish to buy one of these filtered faceplates as well since i don't have my downstairs socket filtered the internet disconnects when the phone rings downstairs. I'm not sure which faceplate to purchase heres what my master looks like if you could let me know what type i need i would be gratefull!

      http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r...Picture127.jpg

      http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r...Picture126.jpg

      and also how hard or easy will it be to set up as i'm completly ne with all this!

    11. #20
      adslnation's Avatar
      adslnation is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Headington, Oxford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Oxford
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The picture shows a standard socket, not a proper NTE-5 master socket, so you could not fit a XTE-2005 faceplate to it. I'm guessing that maybe the actual master is somewhere else and you could replace this socket with an XTF-68 filtered socket.

     

     
    Page 2 of 19 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION