Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By emotionaltrout

    Additional phone point under the stairs

    This is a discussion on Additional phone point under the stairs within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there Need help with a dilemma if anyone has any advise? Just moved into our new home which was ...

    1. #1
      emotionaltrout's Avatar
      emotionaltrout is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Dartford
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Additional phone point under the stairs

      Hi there

      Need help with a dilemma if anyone has any advise?

      Just moved into our new home which was gutted and started from scratch.

      Networked throughout with cat5 cable, with switch, patch panel and NAS sitting under the stairs.

      We decided that the router would sit in the lounge but thinking about it I would prefer it sitting under the stairs with the rest of the equipment. (Yes I should of planned ahead lol)

      In the lounge I have the main by socket and off from that to a double phone socket and next to that I have 4 cat5 cables. Would it be possible to use one of the cat5 cables and connect it to the double phone socket and connecting the other end of the cat5 to a phone socket under the stairs for the router?

      Or even better can I patch it into the patch panel then from the patch panel use a RJ45 to RJ11 cable to the router?

      Thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Additional phone point under the stairs

      Before you go ahead and move everything around, there are two things to consider which may influence your actions:
      • WiFi signal
      • Fibre connection

      The WiFi may not work very well from insider the cabinet. Download and install inSSIDer to check what kind of performance you get.

      It is possible to make a suitable cable to replace the ADSL cable to your router from the Master Socket. I would suggest using a filtered faceplate and replace the ADSL cable with a length of Cat 5e cable.

      As for Fibre, basically your router currently is the Modem and router. With Fibre you would have a separate device for the Modem and a router. You would need to consider where you will place the additional item in the future too. SFU and SFUP should both be available in your area now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      emotionaltrout (03-05-12)

    5. #3
      emotionaltrout's Avatar
      emotionaltrout is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Dartford
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Additional phone point under the stairs

      Hi scubbie
      WiFi is no problem, already tested the range with a WiFi finder app on my phone and it is very strong around the house.

      I'm unable to run any cable from the master socket as we have only just moved in and we have wooden flooring down. I've attached a picture of the sockets in question.

      Under the stairs I have a small server cabinet which will house the router including the other equipment. When I can persuade the misses to get fibre the openreach modem will be placed here too.

      No longer living in Dartford now, need to change my profile lol.

      Cheers

    6. #4
      emotionaltrout's Avatar
      emotionaltrout is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Dartford
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Double socket and cat5 cables in question.

      Additional phone point under the stairs-forumrunner_20120503_113646.jpg

    7. #5
      mrmt32's Avatar
      mrmt32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: West Malling
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 80 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Additional phone point under the stairs

      Wire one of the cat5 cables to the phone socket, and the same cables at the other end to another one. Cat5 is far higher spec. than standard phone cables, so it will actually carry the signal better (quite a few people have replaced their internal phone cables with cat5 in the past in order to try and get better signal to noise ratios / sync speeds).

      This might help: Guide to rewiring internal UK phone wiring

    8. #6
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Additional phone point under the stairs

      Quote Originally Posted by emotionaltrout View Post
      Or even better can I patch it into the patch panel then from the patch panel use a RJ45 to RJ11 cable to the router?

      Thanks for any help
      An RJ11 plug will fit a RJ45 socket, so you could use the router's standard RJ11 TO RJ11 cable.

    9. #7
      emotionaltrout's Avatar
      emotionaltrout is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Dartford
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cheers all.

      So here's the double socket which I want to run the cat5e cable from.

      Which points should I connect to?

      Cheers

      Additional phone point under the stairs-forumrunner_20120503_201449.jpg

      Sent from my HTC One X using Forum Runner

    10. #8
      emotionaltrout's Avatar
      emotionaltrout is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Dartford
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Additional phone point under the stairs

      All done and working perfect
      Scubbie likes this.

    11. #9
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: Additional phone point under the stairs

      For future reference it makes much more sense to always terminate CAT5 to RJ45 modules, you can then easily patch a telephione line or data down the cable(both at the same time if you wish!). Hard wiring means that CAT5 cable can't be used for data use in the future.
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION