Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    ADSL Nation XTE-2005

    This is a discussion on ADSL Nation XTE-2005 within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; with this faceplate does it suppress radio waves or do i need a bt 80b connector, as from my drop ...

    1. #1
      tronic592001's Avatar
      tronic592001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhondda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      home
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      with this faceplate does it suppress radio waves or do i need a bt 80b connector,

      as from my drop line there is a old oval bt30 connector,where 3 wire come in one brown one green one white.

      going out blue with white strips (1)
      ............. white with blue stripes (2)
      bell wire not connected.

      sky broadband base 2mg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      What it does is provide a router socket and prevent any interferance from your internal wiring from causing problems. If you mean will a filter faceplate reduce the effect that causes the SNRM to drop after dark, then no it will not, and nor will anything else.
      If you do not have any internal wiring, just the one socket, then there is little to be gained with a filter faceplate but they do look much neater.

    4. #3
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      According to BT Wholesale info they claim the I Plate(now Broadband Accelerator) can improve line stability through the use of the RF filter, the RF filter in the same as a BT 80B RF3. Whether it does i do not know, we haven't conducted any tests to that effect(yet!).
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    5. #4
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      Just to mention, I had an RF3 filter fitted by Openreach and whilst it may prevent some radio wave interference it doesn't prevent REIN which seems to be the most common cause of external broadband interference at the moment.

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      It is also very hard to find the point that the REIN comes from and can not always get resloved.

    7. #6
      tronic592001's Avatar
      tronic592001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhondda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      home
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      thanks for your replies:

      am i caped im on 2mg base or is this my max download,ive rewired and my noise margin gone from 5.0 6.9 before to 7.1 8.0 after..
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails ADSL Nation XTE-2005-rot1.jpg  

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      The higher the noise margin the better, it means you havemore spped available.

      Sky use a default noise margin of 6.9db so your stats show you are just about getting all your current setup will allow. Can you connect the router to the test socket (see sig for details) and get the stats again.

      It is also worth checking all the other phone extensions are dead when you do this.

      What we are hoping is that either you speed improves or your nopise margin increases.

    9. #8
      tronic592001's Avatar
      tronic592001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhondda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      home
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      them stats are with all extensions removed.

      two wires coming from bt30 box into xte-2005 A and B

      normal bt phone wire one meter .

      im going to replace bt wire with a sorter cat5 wire and try again, but is there anyway i can fined my max d/l speed as i was thinking off going on sky max.

      thanks again will put router stats up soon as i can...

      ps just as well remove bt30 box and connect xte-2005 instead...

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      At the moment, you won't get any more than you have now, unless you noise margin rises then you are at the limit already.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ADSL Nation XTE-2005

      but is there anyway i can fined my max d/l speed as i was thinking off going on sky max.
      If you only want to move for the speed and not the unlimited download. forget it, moving to Max will not improve your speed. To get any improvement in speed you would have to be syncing at 10+ Mb with a good noise margin, unfortunately, you are no where near that.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION