Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    BT external cable

    This is a discussion on BT external cable within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyone know were I can get hold of this? According to BT , I am responcible for any cable ...

    1. #1
      Hex's Avatar
      Hex
      Hex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HASLINGTON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT external cable

      Does anyone know were I can get hold of this?

      According to BT, I am responcible for any cable coming in to the house from the first junction box (poll to box) and their replacment costs are silly, so I'm looking to get 10+ metres of it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,135
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      Quote Originally Posted by Hex View Post
      According to BT, I am responcible for any cable coming in to the house
      Thats a new one on me. Brian will be able to confirm but I'm sure BT are responsible for the cable upto the master socket which is inside the house. There may be cases which differ from this but I bet they are few and far between.


    4. #3
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      True, however, if your tree(s) damages the overhead cable, openreach may charge for the repair, or if you cut the cable on the house by accident, also you can only run your own cable beyond the Master Socket (NTE5A) and not before it.
      Paul

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,135
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      Yes Paul that is true, I assumed that the cable had just deteriorated with age and not been damaged by the owner of the property. Any cable prior to the master should be repaired/replaced by BT chargeable or not as you say.
      Last edited by dholdi; 05-04-08 at 06:18 PM.


    6. #5
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: BT external cable

      local loop------>mastersocket------>internal wiring.
      <--------------------><------------------------->
      bt to sort ...........................eu to sort
      local engineer ll4 ................if you are willing to pay

      this is as far as i am aware and may not be accurate.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,135
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      Whats local engineer 114 ? Is it like police constable 2343 ?


    8. #7
      Hex's Avatar
      Hex
      Hex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HASLINGTON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      hmm, the tech that came out from Openreach said it was up to me and refused to do the job until I had something sorted out with BT to pay for it.

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      Openreach are responsible for any wiring/ fittings on the network side of your demarcation point This is normaly a NTE-5 master socket.
      They will charge for any work on the network if

      (1) they suspect there has been damage caused to their wiring of fittings

      (2) there has been interferance to their wiring or fittings and they need to replace them or rectify and damage

      (3) any work at customers request.


      Which of the above has occured?

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,135
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 46 Times in 44 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      If you havnt damaged it yourself then its not down to you to pay.
      How has it been damaged or is it just deterioration ?


    11. #10
      -Paul's Avatar
      -Paul is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Parkstone
      Broadband ISP: Freesat
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Humax HDR + 42"
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Poole, Dorset
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT external cable

      If the external cable is old, and causes noise etc then it's fair wear & tear & Openeach will replace it for free.
      Paul

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO