Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 69

    Attenuation/ downstream low

    This is a discussion on Attenuation/ downstream low within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Firstly i hope that this is the right place for this type of question, as there are so many forum ...

    1. #1
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Attenuation/ downstream low

      Firstly i hope that this is the right place for this type of question, as there are so many forum sections i wasnt sure.

      Anyway i have just recently got sky broadband mid, went live today actually. I got told i would see speeds of 3.4Mbps by sky, and also when i did a line test for my landline number, but.....

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:02:08

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 21 22 0 85 256 00:00:44
      LAN 100M/Full 3179 3829 0 6278 5847 00:02:04
      WLAN 11M/54M 205 0 0 390 0 00:01:50
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1408 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 8 db 14 db

      The above is what my DG934G router is telling me am getting. The interesting thing is i do NOT have one of the new style BT master sockets in this house, instead a junction box in the bedroom with two standard faceplates run off that, one of which is downstairs (poss over 10m too). Will this be the reason for the high line attentuation value?

      Sorry for the long post Hope you can help
      cheers
      lee


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum, you will find tips on how to improve your internal wiring (all you may be able to do, is to disconect the ring wire)

      HTH

    4. #3
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      cheers for the advice, would you say iam in the right direction with the way this house has been setup? ie lack of BT master socket (new style)
      Oh as another note, i have just had to reboot the router for the third time tomight (since only 5:30pm) as it looses connection *sigh

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      would you say iam in the right direction with the way this house has been setup? ie lack of BT master socket (new style)
      i would think so, are you using the master socket ?

      have you looked at removing the the ring wire (only having pins 2&5 connected)

      have a look at the 3rd link in my sig, its a great write up about attenuation/ line lenth and also the problem with dropouts in the evening

      have a quick read, then post back with any questions that you may have(it took me a while to understand it)

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      Quote Originally Posted by *skys*the*limit* View Post
      Firstly i hope that this is the right place for this type of question, as there are so many forum sections i wasnt sure.
      Well you'd maybe think so from the main title but if you look closer, the full title of the forum you posted into is "Asking for Help - Ask for help with routers and configuration utilities not supported by Sky"

      Moved to the Cabling and Faceplate Help forum.

    7. #6
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      Hi there, and thanks for the helpful directions, as you can tell i've not been around this forum for very long

      I've just ordered a BT master socket (sorry not sure of correct name) but the one with the line through the middle with the seperate section - is it really a big deal to change the junction box over, as from the quick look i took, didnt seem all to hard to do it??

      cheers again *walks over to cable and faceplate section*
      lee

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      Quote Originally Posted by *skys*the*limit* View Post
      is it really a big deal to change the junction box over, as from the quick look i took, didnt seem all to hard to do it??
      That's a tricky one. The "rule" that BT seems to apply is that they own all equipment/wires etc up to and including the backplate of the master socket. In older properties that have an old junction box inside the house then this can be the demarcation point i.e they own the junction box and everything up to it.

      Interfering with or replacing BT equipment can lead to big trouble and significant cost to rectify (if/when they find out).

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      In a domestic set-up, the demarcation point is always the NTE-5 master, never any junction box or other socket.
      No NTE-5 master, no demarcation point.

      The rule is quite simple.
      (1) any wiring which is connected by a plug in device, including the faceplate of a NTE-5 master, is the responsibilty of the owner.
      (2) any wiring that is connected by fixed connections (junction boxes, old style master) is the responsibilty of Openreach.

      While on this subject, there is soon to be a new type of demarcation/master socket unit.
      On new build homes with underground lines, there will be an external unit fitted close to the utility meter access cupboard. This will contain the master socket components and isolation plug and will enable full line testing without access to the property. The network side is sealed and the consumer side has the normal connections. With this unit all internal wiring becomes the responsibilty of the home owner.
      Last edited by Brian69; 29-02-08 at 01:47 PM.

    10. #9
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      May i ask this question then, is it the juntion box that will be causing my high line attentuation db values, or simply the distance from the exchange
      the other problem will obviously be i could not connect my router directly where the outside line comes in could i, as i havent got a master socket at that point.
      thanks again

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Attenuation/ downstream low

      It's not likely to be the junction box, and as things stand you cannot isolate your internal wiring.
      However If you were to open the junction box and disconnect the incoming line and connect a master to it as a temporary measure, you would then be able to do a speed test with your internal wiring disconnected.

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION