Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 30 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 300

    Try your master socket for better results

    This is a discussion on Try your master socket for better results within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just out of interest was there much change in your Attenuation and SNR figures?...

    1. #11
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just out of interest was there much change in your Attenuation and SNR figures?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      FITZO's Avatar
      FITZO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haywards Heath
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NewsreadeR did your line anttenution or noise margin inprove as well

    4. #13
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      His whole life improved now he want to download the internet
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #14
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      @ your and Fitzo

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7008 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.9 db 22.0 db


      before the attenuation was about the same, the noise margin gone down from about 7 - cant remember the whole stats, but i am sure i have posted them on this forum , will go a hunting




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #15
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      I'm interested in whether ADSL Nation's master socket filter can prevent RF interference from the extensions "feeding back" to the ADSL signal. In theory, I think it should, but, well, theory and practice and all that... So, have you rewired in the telephone extensions to the back of the faceplate before taking the above measurements?
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Hi

      The only thing i did was wire up pin 2 and 5 and left the orange ringwire disconnected




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Cheers. That's good enough for me. It means that there's no way for RF interference to get back into the ADSL signal if the signal is filtered before or at the same time as it is split - unlike the plugin filters where the signal is split before it is filtered. (Yes, I know, it's pretty bleedin' obvious, but I just wanted to be 100% sure!)

      It's still a pity that there's no getting away from the fact that having the router coming off the master socket is what improves ADSL2+ however it is filtered. In my case, I've just disconnected the phone extension lines as I don't have a filtering faceplate. ADSL speeds are good and anyway I have a DECT phone with about a zillion extensions so the extension wiring's not needed. Hmmm... I might buy a filtering faceplate anyway because I just know that I'm dopey enough to plug in something to one of the phone extensions in a year's time and wonder why on earth it's not working.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    9. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      I have a master socket, one socket about 1 foot away which the Sky box should be plugged into but isn't as i am out of the 12 month period.

      We have a dect phone, with 4 handsets, the base station is plugged into the master socket.

      No other phone points are been used whatsoever, the router is on the first floor and i have an RJ45 cable running down to my pc on the ground floor.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #19
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Did you need to use a Krone type IDC Tool to get the wires into the connectors on the back?

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      nope a flat ended screwdriver (small one)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 30 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION