Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 60k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Lost admin password

    This is a discussion on Lost admin password within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I wanted to change the admin password for my sky router to something more secure, so I went to the ...

    1. #1
      new2sky's Avatar
      new2sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lost admin password

      I wanted to change the admin password for my sky router to something more secure, so I went to the admin interface and did so. I chose a 13-character password with a mix of upper and lower case and numbers.

      I typed it in both boxes (no cutting and pasting) and clicked apply. It asked me to re-authenticate with the new details, so I did and it worked. I also wrote it down.

      Now when I try to get in, it won't recognise my login credentials. The only solution I can find online is to reset the box to factory defaults, but that's no good because I don't know my sky credentials to set it up again with. I can't get those because I need the admin password. Other hacks linked from this forum all seem to need to access the router over http initially, which needs the admin password.

      I wouldn't mind being locked out except that I need to enter another MAC address into the list of devices allowed to connect to the router.

      Am I completely stuck?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      have u tried admin and sky as password [last time i rebooted router it went back to this set up

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is online now Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5,817
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
      If you do a full reset (hold reset button in for several seconds) then the router will return to default settings which as dtr42 says are username = admin, password = sky.

      All the modifications you have previously made to the router configuration will be lost - hope you made a backup

    5. #4
      new2sky's Avatar
      new2sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yes I've tried "admin" and "sky", and also the NetGear defaults of "admin" and "password". This was one of the first settings I changed, so losing my changes is not a problem.

      Are you saying the reset button will reset it the way sky supplied it, rather that to a blank NetGear router? Are you sure? That would be the perfect answer for me! I don't want to make it worse as I do have *some* Internet access at the moment!

    6. #5
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      hi it will not scrub ur sky mac [it restores it to sky's netgear set up

    7. #6
      new2sky's Avatar
      new2sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! As you probably guessed, it worked. I thought I'd really screwed it up there, but you two have completely made my day.

      It would have been a shame to wreck it. I've only had broadband for one day and it's rather good.

    8. #7
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      no probs and welcome to the forum theyre not a bad bunch here although some advice is better than others

    9. #8
      new2sky's Avatar
      new2sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the welcome dtr.

      I've certainly been impressed on my first visit, and I've hastily bookmarked the site for future visits.

      I'm new to Sky telly too, so no doubt there's lots to discover there.

    10. #9
      pauljones2007's Avatar
      pauljones2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost admin password

      please can someone help me. i was changing my encryption type and the screen went off and now the username and password are not admin and sky. ive tried rebooting the router but still no joy!!!!!!!!!

    11. #10
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Lost admin password

      Quote Originally Posted by pauljones2007 View Post
      please can someone help me. i was changing my encryption type and the screen went off and now the username and password are not admin and sky. ive tried rebooting the router but still no joy!!!!!!!!!
      try resetting the router little pin size hole back of router stick a pen or something in it for 10 secs should reset it to default

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 23-12-07, 11:37 AM
    2. 09-11-07, 10:04 PM
    3. 09-11-07, 08:10 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2012. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO