Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

    This is a discussion on Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi all, New to the forum but need some help. I've had Sky fibre for a while now and I've ...

    1. #1
      Irish10's Avatar
      Irish10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2019
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Hi all,

      New to the forum but need some help. I've had Sky fibre for a while now and I've got the Sky Q hub (not sure what model) but the signal is very poor in my household unless it's in the same room as the hub.

      I do however have an Asus N66u router but have never actually used it and hopefully think it may make a difference but wanted to know what I need to do on order for it to work correctly. I'm guessing it isn't as simple as plug an ethernet cable from my hub to the router ha!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      714
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      If it's a router only device you need a vdsl modem sat in front of it if you want to remove the sky hub etc. Otherwise run the Asus as a wap to improve your wifi etc. If you use the asus as your main router with a modem you can install Merlin on ot which makes it easy to configure with regards to sky's requirements...

      Skys q hub and or sr102 dont work as modem only devices...

      Which option are you thinking of doing?
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. #3
      Irish10's Avatar
      Irish10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2019
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Thanks for the info! I'm not too sure what's best to be honest, I don't want to have to buy anymore equipment. If I can still use the sky hub as my modem but use the Asus to improve WiFi I can do that. Is there anything I need to get?

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      714
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      If you use the sky equipment as your mode/router then your Asus will be a access point for wifi. You might want a switch but apart from that nothing else. You would just need to configue the asus to be in the right mode...
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    6. #5
      Irish10's Avatar
      Irish10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2019
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      What's the best way to configure the router to use as an access point?

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      714
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Have a look at this guide. Should be near enough the same as yours etc.
      https://www.asus.com/uk/support/FAQ/1015009/
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    8. #7
      Irish10's Avatar
      Irish10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2019
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Had a look through it but doesn't help as much unfortunately. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, probably to do with the settings on the Asus.

    9. #8
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      714
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Ok so what part of it are you struggling with.

      Process needs to be along the following..

      Plug wan port of Asus into lan port on the sky router.
      Connect laptop or pc by hard wire into the Asus lan port.
      Open the management console (you may need to leave the wan cable unplugged from the Asus if you are having issues connecting to it)
      Run the " new internet setup"from the top left
      When asked which mode you want you want access point mode.
      Complete the tasks then re connect the cable that goes between the sky router and the Asus wan port.
      May need a reboot but should be job done.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    10. #9
      Irish10's Avatar
      Irish10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2019
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Okay, so just to clarify in my own understanding.

      Connect the Asus to Sky via WAN then connect laptop via another separate Ethernet cable?

      I have done it a similar way but still nothing, will try again. Do I need to change any of the settings on the Asus router to connect or on the Sky hub?

    11. #10
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      714
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connecting Asus N66u Router to Sky Q Fibre

      Ok so here's what I suggest.

      Reset the Asus which will get it set back to default settings as out the box.
      Connect a laptop to Asus via ethernet.
      Get the management gui up and running.
      Configure for AP mode
      Then connect the wan port of the Asus to the sky router LAN port.
      Reboot the Asus. Hopefully all good
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION