Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Own router with Sky Fibre help

    This is a discussion on Own router with Sky Fibre help within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, Recently upgraded to Sky Fibre but didn't realise that it'd stop my own router from working. I've always used ...

    1. #1
      gman12's Avatar
      gman12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2018
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Own router with Sky Fibre help

      Hi,

      Recently upgraded to Sky Fibre but didn't realise that it'd stop my own router from working. I've always used my own Netgear D6000 with Broadband, but since Fibre was activated it stopped working.

      I obtained all my details using wireshark and that's actually how I first got my router working with Broadband, but nothing I've tried so far will work with Fibre. Do I need a different router now that I'm on Fibre? (It's a fibre to copper connection so I didn't think it'd change much).

      For now I have the Netgear doing the wireless stuff and piggybacking off of the SR102. It's alright but the Ethernet ports on the Sky Hub are pretty poor. Any help would be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Own router with Sky Fibre help

      you need option 61 on the wan port. If the d6000 doesn't provide this then it's not going to work. most netgears need ddwrt or openwrt to get the right support. seeing as this is an all in one device I am assuming it's not likely to support 3rd party firnware.

      best options are a seperate vdsl modem and a router that works with option 61. e.g Asus router that supports merlin if you want to keep it simple. There are other options much like my own setup using opnsense if you like to use you own built router...
      Last edited by skyeci; 21-06-18 at 06:31 PM.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. #3
      gman12's Avatar
      gman12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2018
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Own router with Sky Fibre help

      Ye I don't think it has that.

      I just want to take away the Sky Hub completely and have useable ethernet ports on a new router.

      Would this do the job do you think?

      https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-D70...70_&dpSrc=srch

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Own router with Sky Fibre help

      according to a quick search on here it looks like it might work. See this post here Known Working Third Party Routers With Sky Fibre (comment 249)

      You would still need to enter the username and password in the right format but it would appear it would work when correctly configured.

      obviously do your research, I only use separate vdsl modem and router device so please do check things out etc..
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    6. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Own router with Sky Fibre help

      I would also check to make sure IPv6 works with Sky, there are several reports of the D7000 having issues with IPv6.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Own router with Sky Fibre help

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      I would also check to make sure IPv6 works with Sky, there are several reports of the D7000 having issues with IPv6.

      my Opnsense though does not
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION