Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Schedule Netflix access

    This is a discussion on Schedule Netflix access within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Originally Posted by lettice Unless I am missing something. I thought the sr102 could do this if I remember when ...

    1. #11
      thegoatman's Avatar
      thegoatman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      Unless I am missing something.
      I thought the sr102 could do this if I remember when I had one.
      The sky q hub certainly can;

      http://192.168.0.1/sky_block_sites.html

      You can also create a custom setting that lets you block or allow specific websites or website categories via a schedule with the Sky broadband Shield;
      https://www.sky.com/help/articles/sk...ield-explained
      Unfortunately, key word site blocking does not work on https sites. I have just had a look at the sky shield, you can block netflix but not schedule block it.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you are on ADSL as your Profile indicates and not Fibre, then you need a router with a built in modem. You could use a cable router with a separate modem, but this is probably more expensive and more difficult to set up. You would be better sticking to a combined unit. Make sure you get one that mentions ADSL or built in modem.

      Here is a nice one under 40 - https://www.amazon.co.uk/DSL-N10-B1-...us+adsl+router Shop around there are many available,
      Thanks, thats the sort of price I was looking for. Does this have the ability to schedule block https sites? I've read through its manual, but it doesn't mention any kind of site blocking or scheduling.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      I think maybe you will have to bite the bullet on this one. As a general rule you get what you pay for and routers with the options you need will cost more or they will perform badly.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #13
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Just tried a few services with the domain and blocks fine, so not sure why you are having trouble with it.

    5. #14
      thegoatman's Avatar
      thegoatman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      I think maybe you will have to bite the bullet on this one. As a general rule you get what you pay for and routers with the options you need will cost more or they will perform badly.
      Thats fair enough. If the 99 Asus rtac68u can do the job then I'll get that one.

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      Just tried a few services with the domain and blocks fine, so not sure why you are having trouble with it.
      So the Sky Q Hub can keyword block https domains? Perhaps I could get Sky to replace the SR102 with a Q Hub.

    6. #15
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      I don't know about the Sky Q hub, I have one but it's sitting in the attic gathering dust, but someone here should be able to answer that question.

      As for the Asus, it's a stonking piece of kit and has been around for a while. As it does not have a built in modem you would need to add that as well, there's plenty of openreach modems on ebay and although I have never used one on ADSL, they should work OK.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #16
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Quote Originally Posted by thegoatman View Post
      Thats fair enough. If the 99 Asus rtac68u can do the job then I'll get that one.



      So the Sky Q Hub can keyword block https domains? Perhaps I could get Sky to replace the SR102 with a Q Hub.
      The sr102 would do exactly the same. I used to own one and it blocked fine, the settings for that area in the sr102 and q hub are identical.
      Use the domain not keyword.
      The shield works at domain level too.

      By the way you can email the sky broadband shield team at CRSupport@sky.uk

    8. #17
      thegoatman's Avatar
      thegoatman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      The sr102 would do exactly the same. I used to own one and it blocked fine, the settings for that area in the sr102 and q hub are identical.
      Use the domain not keyword.
      The shield works at domain level too.

      By the way you can email the sky broadband shield team at CRSupport@sky.uk
      I have just tried it again. I can block non https sites (blocked bbc news), but not https sites.

      I've tried blocking:
      https://www.netflix.com/gb/
      https://www.netflix.com/gb
      https://www.netflix.com/
      https://www.netflix.com
      https://www.netflix.com/gb/browse
      netflix.com
      www.netflix.com

      All of them resolve regardless. It seems on my router atleast, the site blocking does not work on sites using port 443. Unless I'm missing something that needs entering on the firewall section?

    9. #18
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Hacked ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      511
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      A DNS block is never going to be effective (you cant block https), kids can bypass that stuff in primary school (you don't need any skill to type site blocked in Google). Asus (and i'm sure other brands) stop porn/streaming/gaming/other timesinks and enforce your DNS regardless of PC settings. Then you just have to hope your kids don't learn about VPN because that's going to bypass everything you can do (although Asus router does block VPN connections for my kids devices).

    10. #19
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Hence my comment about opendns, change your dns servers on the PC or laptop and away you go, that is unless you then set the user account on the device without admin privileges. So many ways to cheat.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #20
      thegoatman's Avatar
      thegoatman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Schedule Netflix access

      Quote Originally Posted by coipu View Post
      A DNS block is never going to be effective (you cant block https), kids can bypass that stuff in primary school (you don't need any skill to type site blocked in Google). Asus (and i'm sure other brands) stop porn/streaming/gaming/other timesinks and enforce your DNS regardless of PC settings. Then you just have to hope your kids don't learn about VPN because that's going to bypass everything you can do (although Asus router does block VPN connections for my kids devices).
      I'll go for the ASUS RT-AC68U when its back in stock. Is it possible to use the modem in my sky hub? If not then I'll pick up an open reach modem off ebay, they only seem to cost 15-20.

      Edit: The ASUS DSL-AC68u is 110 and in stock. I'm assuming its the same as the RT-AC68u, but with a built in modem. Will its built in modem work on sky dsl or do you have to use an open reach modem?

      Also, does the time scheduling section under AiProtection actually schedule the times when AiProtection will be enabled (so only video streaming disabled), or does it simply schedule internet access entirely.
      Last edited by thegoatman; 01-12-16 at 11:39 AM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION