Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Netgear WGR 614 Router Usage

    This is a discussion on Netgear WGR 614 Router Usage within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; @operationfirefly Hi there and thanks for the response - I switched of the UPnP when I first logged on, got ...

    1. #11
      aazzguard's Avatar
      aazzguard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @operationfirefly

      Hi there and thanks for the response - I switched of the UPnP when I first logged on, got online and fread around a bit on Sky's BB. I haven't noticed any problems but it may be because I switched it off I haven't had any problems...

      @Saturday

      At the moment I can't afford to shell out for a new socket so that will have to wait (if I can't fix this problem by then). Stability is not great - I ahve to reboot around 3-4 times a week, but it's better than when I first got it and had to reboot a couple of times a day.

      Is it possible that my router profile (not sure if that's the correct terminology) is only set for ADSL and not ADSL+2?

      Thanks, A.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Doing it yourself would cost <20, you might be able to persuade BT to do it for free

      Yes it's possible you could be on ADSL - I don't think Sky would do this unless you'd asked them to. Have you been in contact with Tier 3?

      You can telnet into your router and discover lots of things including what ADSL service you're connected to. Can't remember the parameters off hand but will try to find them if you're interested.

    4. #13
      aazzguard's Avatar
      aazzguard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I haven't spoken to Sky at all. I'v e just been trying to telnet into my box and can't seem to - is my username the whole thing including the "@skydsl" bit or not?

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Sky in their wisdom have passworded out telnet in the router.

      To get round this you need to use a URL injection hack developed by Jose Cardoso:

      http://jose.cardoso.googlepages.com/...#URL_Injection

    6. #15
      aazzguard's Avatar
      aazzguard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry mate, you may have missed it on my first post - I have used the URL Injection hack to get my true username and password. My problem right now is when entering my info do I use the whole thing i.e. username@skydsl or just or just the 12 digit first bit (i.e. "username"). I've tried both ways and still cannot get into the darned thing. I just want to be able to check if it's on ADSL+2 or not and switch it over if it isn't. I can't seem to find the thread that give you all the commands (Jose's page doesn't seem to provide the info I remember seeing)

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Yes I knew you'd used Jose's hack to get your password/username. What I didn't say very clearly was that this isn't the password to get into telnet - nobody knows what that password is.

      As I said earlier, I know there's another URL hack to get to the telnet function but can't remember where I saw it. I pointed you again at Jose's site as I half felt that's where it might have been. I didn't check before posting as the missus was calling me to come and eat.

      I'll have a think and see if I can remember where I saw it and get back to you.

      EDIT:

      OK - found the info on modem stats (it was on Jose's site):

      cat /tmp/adsl-stats

      This will give you a stream of information about the ADSL connection.


      Now just need to find the telnet hack

      EDIT 2:

      Here you go - found the telnet hack (credit to mossywell):

      To enable telnet use the following URL then telnet to your router - no password required:

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=ping_test&c4_IPAddr=%26/bin/sh+-c+'PATH=/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin;/usr/sbin/utelnetd+-l+/bin/sh'
      Last edited by Saturday; 12-11-06 at 09:32 PM.

    8. #17
      aazzguard's Avatar
      aazzguard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Aah, now your post makes sense. Sorry. So it's secrets, within secrets, within secrets!
      I didn't check before posting as the missus was calling me to come and eat.
      I have to say, that made me laugh beacuse that's exactly what my wife does too. I'm sitting at the computer and she's calling away from downstairs telling me that my dinners getting cold.

    9. #18
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Yes - no doubt the same scenario repeated in thousands of homes across the country

      Let me know how you get on with the info I added above.

    10. #19
      aazzguard's Avatar
      aazzguard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kneller Hall
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Looks like I am using ADLS2+. Don't now if anyone can look at the following and tell me whether I'm connected at good,bad or ugly rates for my line:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST
      Upstream rate = 764 Kbps
      Downstream rate = 7266 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 12.5
      Attn(dB): 40.0 23.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 7412 864
      Rate (Kbps): 7266 764
      G.dmt framing
      K:28(0) 24
      R:8 16
      S:8 8
      D:64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc:60 68
      B:27 23
      M:8 8
      T:8 1
      R:8 16
      S:0.9820 7.7037
      L:1890 216
      D:64 8
      Counters
      SF:214357 214355
      SFErr:5 1
      RS:14147624 1822017
      RSCorr:155975 3
      RSUnCorr:88 0
      HEC:5 0
      OCD:0 0
      LCD:0 0

    11. #20
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Nothing obvious jumps out at me (though someone with more expertise might feel differently) other than the point I made some while back in the thread.

      With a relatively quiet line with your attenuation you should be able to connect at something around 12000kbps.

      That you're not suggests a noise problem. Connecting to your test socket would confirm or this or not.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION