Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Piggy backing to sky hub?

    This is a discussion on Piggy backing to sky hub? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi there. I'm thinking about purchasing the Netgear NETDGND3700 Wireless N 600 ADSL2+ Dual Band Gigabit Router + 4 x ...

    1. #1
      activewalker's Avatar
      activewalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Piggy backing to sky hub?

      Hi there.

      I'm thinking about purchasing the Netgear NETDGND3700 Wireless N 600 ADSL2+ Dual Band Gigabit Router + 4 x 10/100/1G. Will this router connect to the hub via ethernet following the guide and will I be able to utilise the extra power?

      Many thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Piggy backing to sky hub?

      You could, but why not connect it directly to the line. I am assuming you are on ADSL as your profile indicates, if you are on fibre a non ADSL router would be a better choice. All you need to do is extract the username and password from your Hub, instructions for this are on the forum.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      activewalker (27-01-14)

    5. #3
      activewalker's Avatar
      activewalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Piggy backing to sky hub?

      That's great news. When I get my new router in a couple of days, I will have a go at setting it up directly to the line then. I'm on ADSL with broadband unlimited and my network type is PPPoA. Is there anything else I need to be aware of?

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Piggy backing to sky hub?

      Nothing to it really all you need is the username and password. You can get these from Dragon's PDF here- http://routerconfig.me/legacy/sky/Ob...outer%20v2.pdf

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      activewalker (27-01-14)

    8. #5
      activewalker's Avatar
      activewalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Piggy backing to sky hub?

      Got my Netgear router up and running, it's working like a dream!

      Thanks you guys, couldn't have done it without u

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION