Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Extend range by using additional router or modem

    This is a discussion on Extend range by using additional router or modem within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi there. Please forgive my ignorance here. I have the original Sky black netgear router in my kitchen downstairs but ...

    1. #1
      Presleyplays's Avatar
      Presleyplays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Extend range by using additional router or modem

      Hi there. Please forgive my ignorance here. I have the original Sky black netgear router in my kitchen downstairs but dont get a reliable wifi service in upstairs rooms. I think the most reliable solution is for me to run an Ethernet cable upstairs and connect to a new router (or is it a modem, sorry?) which would then transmit wifi to those upstairs rooms.

      Im not concerned about running the Ethernet cable as I have a spare 30m one and have a gap in ceiling to hide. My questions are the dumb ones.

      Is it a "router" that I need upstairs to act as the repeater?
      is it just the power cable and Ethernet cable that needs to be plugged into it?
      will I need to change any settings or will connecting this way purely extend my current 'network' SKY471**?

      Any recommendations for a good and cost effective router would be very welcome. Thank you all very much.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,076
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Extend range by using additional router or modem

      Hello Presleyplays,

      Quickly to help you differentiate:

      Modem - the bit that dials the connection to your ISP's servers. This is built into most ADSL routers and is a separate item for Fibre products
      Router - the bit which handles how everything on your LAN talks to one another and traffic in and out of the Internet

      What you are looking to do is to provide an additional WiFi Access Point for your LAN. This does not need to be a router. There are products known as 'Wireless Extenders' and 'Wireless Repeaters'.

      Since you are able to use an Ethernet cable to link one to your existing router, a Wireless Extender would be a good choice. A 'Repeater' would connect to the router's WiFi and the throughput speed is severally hampered. The Extender would pass the traffic through the Ethernet cable and the throughput would be significantly better.

      Depending on your budget and what features you may be interested in, there are several to choose from.

      WN2500RP#

      WN2000RPT#

      TL-WA830RE - Welcome to TP-LINK

      The list above is not comprehensive and just shows a small selection of some of the better ones available. Whilst searching I found this article:

      Wireless N Range Extender | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      Whilst the site does sell the products, there are others which may have the same items available at a better price.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Presleyplays's Avatar
      Presleyplays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extend range by using additional router or modem

      Thanks Scubbie for the reply. I appreciate your time and comments. I like the look of the TP Link model. Just to be clear all the models seem to indicate they work as wireless extenders, does this imply they don't actually require a cabled Ethernet connection IN. As I said I have the option of plugging an Ethernet cable in so I assume the models have the option of working either with or without an input cable and that the reliability and connection etc would be better if you do use wired in to the extender.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,076
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts
      I believe that you should be able to use them all this way. However as I have provided the links to the manufacturer's sites, could I suggest that you double check this?

      I know that Netgear has a good support section with all the manuals. The others should do too.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Extend range by using additional router or modem

      One of these would suit your purpose and give you ethernet ports should you require them.
      http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-W...bs_computers_1

      TP-Link TL-WR843ND 300Mbps Wireless AP/Client CABLE Router: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      Both can be connected to the main router by ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Presleyplays's Avatar
      Presleyplays is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extend range by using additional router or modem

      Thank you isitme. Comparing the TP link AP client model to the earlier suggested TP link range extender - do you know whether either would create a new SSID in my house if using with an Ethernet cable providing the input to the new device.

      In all honesty if I don't use the TP Link WA830 as a wireless range extender but rather as an AP wouldn't I be better with a standalone AP?

      Many thanks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION