Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Ethernet cables stopped working

    This is a discussion on Ethernet cables stopped working within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, Iíve having some problems with my Ethernet cables. I ran 6 Ethernet cables in my house about 4 years ...

    1. #1
      scott26985's Avatar
      scott26985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet cables stopped working

      Hi, Iíve having some problems with my Ethernet cables.

      I ran 6 Ethernet cables in my house about 4 years ago as the wireless signal from my Sky router is poor.
      I wired them myself and they all worked fine for about 3 years, then they started to stop working one by one. Four of them will not connect to the internet now.

      Here is a diagram of my setup:
      Ethernet cables stopped working-15rfo9d.jpg

      I brought a cable tester which indicates that cables 4-7 are not working. I have replaced the RJ45s several times and checked the full run of the cables to find no brakes or damage. Ive no idea whats wrong.



      Anything else you think this could be? Driving me mad!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Ethernet cables stopped working

      I would go to basics first. Do the following one at a time:

      Check that the clip hasn't been broken on the Ethernet plugs.

      Take a PC that is working and connect it to a cable which apparently isn't working.

      Swap the Ethernet cables at the Hub/Network switch to other ports.

      Using a DVM (Digital Voltage Meter) check the wiring is still intact for each pin on the connectors.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ethernet cables stopped working

      A few more suggestions
      Is it possible to plug your cables directly into the router? This is to check if it is your Hub that is failing.

      Are the cables subject to any dampness?

      A build up of residue may be stopping a full connection, a small squirt of WD40 on the plug then working it in and out of the socket may help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      scott26985's Avatar
      scott26985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet cables stopped working

      Something odd just happened. I plugged a cable that a tester said was not working into the PS3 and it worked straight away. My only thought is the new RJ45 has fixed the problem.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Ethernet cables stopped working

      It is very possible that a faulty connection in the plug or a broken wire just near it was to blame.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION