Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

    This is a discussion on Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Is it guaranteed if I order now as a new customer I will get one of the newer N class ...

    1. #11
      afn's Avatar
      afn
      afn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bethesda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      Is it guaranteed if I order now as a new customer I will get one of the newer N class routers?

      And if worse case scenario I don't and the signal is week on the one I get will I still be able to use my Netgear DG834GT as either the full wireless router (instead of Sky's one) or just as a wireless access point instead of Sky's router?

      Thanks for all your help, as I just don't want to jump ship and be in a worse position than I am now.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      There is no guarantee what router you will get with Sky. The latest joiners have got the Sagem2304N, which although not full N, is better than a wireless G.

      Although it is against the T & Cs, you can use your own router. You can also piggyback it on to the Sky one using ethernet, to give you reception in parts of your house not reached by the main router if you need it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      afn's Avatar
      afn
      afn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bethesda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      Should I wait for Sky to start issuing the full N class router before I jump ship or should I change now?

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      Quote Originally Posted by afn View Post
      Should I wait for Sky to start issuing the full N class router before I jump ship or should I change now?
      As with everything else, this is your choice.

      Since there is very little information regarding the latest Sky router to be dispatched, you can safely assume that there is even less available for the next router.

      For example no one can advise whether it will have any USB ports, work straight out the box or be reliable over the longer period.

      You are always welcome to purchase you own router and extract the password from the Sky router. Technically this is against Sky's T&Cs but many members have successfully done this.

      There are some reasonable WiFi n routers available for around 20.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      afn's Avatar
      afn
      afn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bethesda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      If I do get a Sky router that the wireless is worse on than my DG834GT can I switch the wireless off on the Sky one and plug my DG834GT into it and use that for the wireless part instead? Or if I do the thing with the homeplugs does that allow use of the wireless on the 2nd router or just ethernet connectivity?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      Quote Originally Posted by afn View Post
      If I do get a Sky router that the wireless is worse on than my DG834GT can I switch the wireless off on the Sky one and plug my DG834GT into it and use that for the wireless part instead? Or if I do the thing with the homeplugs does that allow use of the wireless on the 2nd router or just ethernet connectivity?
      Yes. The wireless on the Sky router can be disabled and you can use the WiFi on a router connected to homeplugs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      afn's Avatar
      afn
      afn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bethesda
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      North Wales
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      So can I do the 2 things I am talking about in the above post then ie

      Q1) Switch the wireless off on sky router, plug DG834GT into it and just use the wireless on that.

      Q2) If I put a homeplug from upstairs to downstairs will I be able to use the wireless on both routers or only wireless on 1 and ethernet on other?

      Q3) And if you can use wireless on both as in Q2 doesn't it half the bandwidth or something?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      Q1 - Yes
      Q2 - Yes, you can use the wireless on both if you wish.
      Q3 - No, how the bandwidth is distributed depends on how many are connected. If only one is connected there will be no reduction even if both wireless stations are turned on. Theoretically if 2 are connected either by wireless or ethernet, the bandwidth will be halved. If 3 are connected, each will get a third and so on. This is theoretical, in practise the strongest adapter will often take more than its fair share.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      afn (18-04-11)

    11. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Using existing non Sky Netgear DG834GT

      If you are considering using the two routers, see this thread:

      How to connect two Routers together

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION