Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 45 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 444
    Like Tree27Likes

    How to connect two Routers together

    This is a discussion on How to connect two Routers together within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Thanks again. Do you have a view on the 2504 versus the 2504N? One option is to buy the N ...

    1. #101
      redmini's Avatar
      redmini is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Thanks again. Do you have a view on the 2504 versus the 2504N? One option is to buy the N router (which I understand Sky will sell for 35quid) but would like to know how you rate the 2.

      One other question is that I was going to connect a Tp Link TD-W8960N to the 2504 as its a 300MBPS router. Would that be better than just buying the 2504N . What would get me the fastest wi-fi connection?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Quote Originally Posted by redmini View Post
      Thanks again. Do you have a view on the 2504 versus the 2504N? One option is to buy the N router (which I understand Sky will sell for 35quid) but would like to know how you rate the 2.
      The Sagem 2504 is a WiFi g router. It had some problems with the PSU but this has been changed. The latest firmware supports WPA2-AES, which I would recommend that you change to as it is not the default setting (default is still WPA-TKIP).

      The Sagem 2504N was released last July/August. It is a WiFi n router (max 144mb/s) and to date most people seem to be very happy with it.

      Both routers have Sky's firmware which is locked down so much if you want to do anything different, then it becomes a pain IMHO.

      Quote Originally Posted by redmini View Post
      One other question is that I was going to connect a Tp Link TD-W8960N to the 2504 as its a 300MBPS router. Would that be better than just buying the 2504N . What would get me the fastest wi-fi connection?
      One of these...?

      WNDR4500

      (there are other N900 routers around)

      • Sagem 2504 = 56mb/s
      • Sagem 2404 = 56mb/s
      • Sagem 2304n = 72mb/s
      • BT HomeHub v2 = 130mb/s
      • Sagem 2504N = 144mb/s
      • BT HomeHub v3 = 144mb/s
      • TP Link TD-W8960N = 300mb/s
      • Netgear DGND3700 = 300mb/s (2.4GHz) & 300mb/s (5GHz)
      • WNDR4500 = 450mb/s (2.4GHz) & 300mb/s (5GHz)

      The Sagems & BT HomeHubs use only a single channel. The TP Link & Netgears use pair or tripled channels. You need to check what your WiFi adaptor is capable of working at.

      For example, the adaptor which was in my laptop would only connect at a maximum of 72mb/s on a single channel. With a router that uses two channels it connects at up to 150mb/s. I replaced it with an Intel Centrino 6300. It can connect at up to 450mb/s on either the 2.4GHz or 5GHz frequencies. On a single channel it will connect at no more than 144mb/s. With a router that works at 300mb/s it connects at that speed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      redmini (10-01-12)

    5. #103
      cougargb's Avatar
      cougargb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      My problem is much simpler!

      I have the newer Sagemcom N router and I have an ethernet cable running across the room and I experience the following scenarios!

      1. I connect the cable to my Sky+ HD box and the network connection is perfect and Sky Anytime+ works

      2. I connect a Netgear Ethernet Hub EN104 to the cable from the router and plug in the ethernet cable from the Sky+ HD box into it. The network now reports "Local connection OK" but "Service Connection FAIL" and Sky Anytime+ doesn't work!

      The hub is working correctly and not showing any collisions. I have no idea why this isn't working.

      Can anyone suggest what I need to connect to the cable from the router to to gain at least 2 ports, one for the Sky+ HD box and one for my Sony Blu-ray player?


      Chris
      Last edited by cougargb; 10-01-12 at 03:05 PM. Reason: Slight amendment

    6. #104
      cougargb's Avatar
      cougargb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01933
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      I think I have my solution!

      I have a hub and I need a switch, they apparently are not the same!

      Is that correct?

      Will a switch solve my problem?

      Thanks

      Chris

    7. #105
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Quote Originally Posted by cougargb View Post
      I have a hub and I need a switch, they apparently are not the same!
      This is correct.

      Whilst a Switch is the simplest solution, if you disable the DHCP Server setting in the Netgear Hub, then all will be just fine.

      Set the Hub to have an IP Address around 192.168.0.250 as well so that it does not clash with the Sky router and works on your LAN.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #106
      Acidsplash's Avatar
      Acidsplash is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      New to Sky but about to get multiroom and need to connect Smart TV's upstairs and downstairs, don't want to splash out the £95 for a wireless dongle upstairs so is it possible to have a second router upstairs just to access the Smart services? I (should) have phone lines in both rooms, sky + hd downstairs and Sky HD upstairs, both tvs are Samsung.
      Thank You
      Rob

    9. #107
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      Quote Originally Posted by Acidsplash View Post
      ...so is it possible to have a second router upstairs just to access the Smart services?...
      You cannot have two ADSL routers sharing the same telephone line. The document at the beginning of this thread describes how to connect a 2nd router to a Sky router which is connected to the Internet.

      In this way you can expand your home network cheaply with additional LAN ports and an extra WiFi access point using a spare WiFi router.

      You will need to link the two routers together with either an Ethernet cable or a pair of HomePlugs.

      HomePlugs themselves have developed a great deal over the past year and their prices have dropped. For example you can now get a pair of HomePlugs that will work at up to 200mbps between each other for around £35. There are also HomePlugs that have built-in WiFi access points and more than one LAN port.

      There are plenty more ideas available, depending on your budget and what you may do at a later date. Please take a look at the guide in the thread linked below:

      Extending your Home Network

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Acidsplash (15-01-12)

    11. #108
      Jonathan.Thompson's Avatar
      Jonathan.Thompson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      I purchased a netgear N300 router today and phoned sky for the login settings but sky would not give me the settings to install it as your are aware,

      They told me if i want better wifi connection i need to purchase a new router from them which i then did over the phone £ 35,

      in the mean time i came across the article " How to connect two Routers together "
      so i connected the new router by ethernet cable and its working fine i did not have to do any thing else is this possible ? My wifi connection is really fast as well now , can it be this simple ? it cost me £ 109 for a new router from PC world and £35 for the router from sky which is due to arrive next week , should i send the new router back ?

    12. #109
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      The guide was designed to make things clear and it works. It is an expensive way to expand your WiFi coverage though if you need to purchase a new router.

      There are many options at your disposal. You didn't say why you've got the new router (it may be in another post or just to improve the WiFi speed) but you could use the N300 if the old Sky router is still working.

      Look at the first two current threads in this section:

      Extracting Sky Router passwords

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. #110
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: How to connect two Routers together

      damn it, I really want to connect two routers together via wifi and not via a cable or home plug!

      I take it there is no way to do this? I have tried everything....

     

     
    Page 11 of 45 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 15-07-14, 01:23 PM
    2. 08-07-14, 09:48 PM
    3. 14-12-13, 05:18 PM
    4. 05-12-13, 07:57 PM
    5. 27-10-13, 11:42 PM
    6. 20-10-13, 08:27 PM
    7. 01-10-13, 06:00 PM
    8. 29-08-13, 05:17 PM
    9. 25-05-13, 10:48 AM
    10. 29-04-13, 12:57 PM
    11. 22-03-13, 08:50 PM
    12. 13-09-12, 11:46 PM
    13. 13-09-12, 01:06 PM
    14. 08-06-12, 11:25 AM
    15. 27-05-12, 07:23 PM
    16. 31-01-12, 11:38 PM
    17. 17-01-12, 11:59 PM
    18. 09-01-12, 11:22 AM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION