Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up

    This is a discussion on Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, I have an iPad, iPhone 3GS & iPhone 4 all successfully connected to my Sky Network wirelessly. The iPad ...

    1. #1
      bwfc0907's Avatar
      bwfc0907 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up

      Hi, I have an iPad, iPhone 3GS & iPhone 4 all successfully connected to my Sky Network wirelessly.
      The iPad & 3GS show up in attached devices on the router but I can't get the router to recognize the iPhone 4 as an attached device despite it being connected and working on the network.
      My router is the Netgear 834GT. I can't update the firmware to netgears as I don't have XP just 7 on my laptop.
      Because the router can't see the iPhone 4 I can't stream to it unlike my iPad.
      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,835
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,461 Posts

      Re: Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up

      You could try giving the iPhone a fixed address, like 192.168.0.100, it may then be recognised.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      bwfc0907 (24-10-10)

    5. #3
      bwfc0907's Avatar
      bwfc0907 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up

      funnily enough I tried this earlier, it still doesn't recognize it but does now allow me to stream! Sky are supposed to have investigated and rang me back. Still no call!

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,835
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,461 Posts

      Re: Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up

      If all your other devices are being recognised it is probably a problem with the iPhone. The number 4 version seems to have had more than its share of problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





    7. #5
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Wireless "Attached Device" not showing up

      Quote Originally Posted by bwfc0907 View Post
      funnily enough I tried this earlier, it still doesn't recognize it but does now allow me to stream! Sky are supposed to have investigated and rang me back. Still no call!
      To be honest, you're unlikely to get a callback over an issue like this. If your BB is working and everything is connecting, and you only have an issue with one device, they would generally advise you to get the device and its settings checked.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO